So here we have the new ‘(at) LFO to DMX (DMX)’ module for Modul8.

It’s basically a router for applying the Global LFO output (from my LFO Global module) to DMX channels. Much like the other LFO routers I have written for Modul8 keywords/controllers.

LFOtoDMX

For those of you who don’t know the LFO module and a still using the BPM router, it has 2 Low Frequency Oscillators (one of which can feed back into the other), and 1 BPM controlled waveform. All oscillators can produce a number of different waveforms (sine / tri / ramp / cut / square / random), and output the result through the sharedDictionary to other modules such as this new ‘LFO to DMX’ one. There’s even a version of the Filter module which accepts Global LFO inputs, so you can keep your whole composition synced to the same oscillations!

Now, I’m not a big (or small) user of DMX gear, and I don’t actually have any to hand (so I’m not even sure why I spent the afternoon putting this thing together). Therefore, I haven’t actually tested it on any proper lighting rig – but that said, I’m pretty confident it’s gonna do the job, as all the maths tests out okay. Just seemed like it should exist, so I made it. It would be pretty cool to get some feedback though, so if you fancy having a play around, please do let me know how it goes!

